Happiness is all around

The Vietnamese New Year, known as Tết, is fast approaching. I can feel the energy of Hanoi changing as people prepare for this very special time. At the Peace House Shelter (one of the places where I am interning), residents and staff gathered together to celebrate the coming of the new year. As with any good celebration, lots of delicious food was eaten and well wishes for the new year were exchanged.

DSC_0219

The residents and their children sang beautiful songs, and a few of the women shared very moving personal accounts of their experiences with the Peace House, and the positive impact that it is had on their lives.

DSC_0220 DSC_0221

I can’t help but get into the spirit of the season when surrounded by all this love and happiness!

One thought on “Happiness is all around

  1. Chúc mừng năm mới, Heather!

    I’m so happy to see that you’re having a great time celebrating New Year in Vietnam. A search for more information on the Peace House Shelter has brought me here today. How is it going over there?

    I remember my first time tumbling on your blog when looking for blogs on Hanoi. You said then that you wished you could blend in better since the locals were staring all the time. I hope it’s getting better now. FYI, I live in Paris and people stare a lot as well, unfazed!

Leave a Reply

