DivaCup update!

A couple of months ago I finally got around to buying my DivaCup, and let me tell you, it is just as magical as I had imagined. Now I must admit, it was a little intimidating at first and I would be lying if I said I didn’t face some struggles. But after some practice it worked out really well and delivered on all of its promises! No leaks, super comfortable, and surprisingly not messy to take out at all!

I’m glad I was able to figure this out now because I just found out for certain that good menstrual products are hard to come by in Hanoi. The only products widely available are scented tampons. Yuck.

Interesting fact: Scented tampons can be seen as originating from the Ancient Greek belief in the “wandering womb”. It was believed that a woman’s womb was an independent “animal”, travelling freely throughout the woman’s body. If the womb wandered too far up, it created respiratory issues, sudden feelings of suffocation, faintness, insanity, etc. If it moved too far down, it created stomach ailments and discomfort. (this belief resulted in many illnesses being obviously misdiagnosed, and women’s health suffered as a result)

The solution: sex and pregnancy of course!, which would anchor the womb in its place.

Another option: aromatherapy. This is where the concept behind scented tampons comes into play. It was believed that the animalistic womb was attracted to pleasant smells and repulsed by unpleasant ones. Therefore, applying the appropriate scents to the nose or vulva area would calm the wandering womb and attract it back into place, relieving the woman of any illness supposedly caused by her womb.

Interesting connection, huh?

12 thoughts on “DivaCup update!

  1. Good to hear that it is working out well for you! I have also been wanting to try a diva cup, but I’m holding off until I find out what my IUD does to me.

    Thanks for sharing some of the interesting history too!

    • thanks Kyla! Apparently it can be tricky for some to use the DivaCup with an IUD as there is a fear of the IUD becoming dislodged. Hopefully it will work for you though because I think that you would love it! If the DivaCup doesn’t work, there are plenty more alternative menstrual products out there that you could try. I’m glad you enjoyed the bit of historical background! I found it interesting as well. Unfortunately, it is “scientific” theories such as this that have labelled women as inherently imperfect, weak, and hysterical beings, and have perpetuated negative images of a woman’s menstruation process.

      • Definitely – it is crazy that in history and in some parts of the world, women are “impure” because of menstruation – when really it is just the most natural and life-giving thing! It especially drives me crazy when pregnant women are forced to stay indoors or hidden when they are pregnant – but that is just a tangent.

  2. What an interesting concept! The tampon is a great invention and allows women more freedom during that annoying time of the month. Scented tampons however, are not a great idea! Glad it worked well for you and will be a better option while you’re there.

    • Thank you! while tampons are definitely convenient the DivaCup is just as much so, and more cost effective and environmentally friendly too! you should give it a try, I think you would grow to love it 🙂

  3. Very interesting history. I remember trying scented pads as a young teen. They smelled terrible. I thought they were a thing of the past. We’ve come a long way from garters holding pads in place just in my lifetime, and yet not all options are readily available to everyone. Bring lots of supplies. Glad you discovered this new option.

    • thanks for sharing your experience! I have also thought the same thing about scented tampons–they do not smell pleasant at all! It is amazing the progress that has been made with menstrual products. I’m happy though to see a return to more natural alternatives, such as cloth pads, or items such as the DivaCup that are more sustainable.

  4. I’ve been putting off buying a Diva Cup of my own because I’ve heard others say that it was worth it, but no one has explained why. I think you’ve convinced me! Just recently I’ve been thinking about how awful the use of tampons must actually be for our bodies- do we even know what they’re made out of? I was wondering if you knew, by any chance, how or why Diva Cup is better for our bodies- have you come across an explanation of what they’re made of exactly? In other words, Is there something about the Diva Cup – or rather something that it doesn’t have- that makes it so much better to use than tampons?

    • thanks for your comment! I wrote about some of the concerns with tampons and other disposal menstrual products a little while back here: https://heatherinhanoi.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/diva-what/. Tampons are made of rayon, or a rayon cotton blend. These materials are then bleached with chlorine or other bleaching processes, leading tampons to in turn contain dioxins. After inserting a tampon, these dioxins have the potential to leach through your skin. I don’t know about you but I certainly don’t want that in my body. Especially if I have other options. The DivaCup is made out of silicone, making it a much healthier and sustainable option. It’s good for your body and health, good for the environment, and saves you LOTS of money! If you do end up buying a DivaCup I would love to hear your about experience with it!

  5. @ Kyla, its perfectly fine to use with an IUD if you break the seal properly as those of us who have never had kids have stronger interuterine muscles that prevent it from dislodging.
    What I love about the Diva Cup is that its all natural, no chemicals going into my body, it doesn’t strip my body of any natural substances or make it dry, or irritate it by inserting/removing it. I also love that it has no environmental waste!
    PS I really want to see the movie Hysteria that touches on the ‘wandering womb’ idea and some of the other supposed cures for it (i.e. vibrators)

    • Thanks for sharing your experience with the DivaCup, Steph. I love the DivaCup for all the same reasons as you. I think if people could grow to become more comfortable with their bodies and menstruation, more people could see the convenience the DivaCup offers. I had never heard of that movie but would love to watch it! it sounds really interesting. It was largely from the “wandering womb” idea where the word hysteria originated and grew to become synonymous with only women.

Leave a Reply

