I am an INDEVOUR!

I would like to introduce you to a group of 32 students who are undoubtedly going to accomplish great things in the field of international development. This group of students, which I am proudly a part of, is known as INDEVOURS. A combination of the words INDEV (aka international development) and endeavour, this name perfectly captures our collective desire to undertake meaningful action in the field of development. Since January we have been busy performing all the tasks that any new not-for-profit would. A logo was developed, we established a mission, vision, set of values, and have been working tirelessly to plan and promote fundraising events.

Our next fundraising event is a Global Gala Dinner and Silent Auction, which will be held on Friday July 13th. It will be an interactive experience where guests will be personally confronted with issues of food insecurity. Food security is a serious concern worldwide, with 925 million people, 98% of whom live in developing countries, lacking access to an adequate quantity and quality of food.

As INDEVOURS, we have also released an INCREDIBLE video (watch it, it’s worth your time!) that truly showcases who we are and our thoughts on international development. I strongly believe in the power of creative mediums to support and raise awareness for international development issues. International development is a broad, and complex field, not often well understood in the larger community. I am all too often met with blank stares when trying to explain what I am studying at university to family, friends, and strangers alike. Using creativity allows us to break down the complexities and makes international development accessible to ALL people, by making it personal and hopefully interesting.

 

We’ve shared our thoughts on international development. What are yours?

6 thoughts on “I am an INDEVOUR!

  1. I just wanted to say how much I love your new layout! It’s beautiful and makes me happy inside 🙂
    I also love your tagline and your description of yourself. So clever and witty… are they the same thing? Don’t judge me..

  2. I must admit that when I first heard about the international development program I was unsure what was involved. This video is very helpful in explaining what the program is about.

  3. Great video! I missed you in it. It would have been nice to have one group picture of the whole class at the end of the video. Anyway, it was very effective in conveying goals, aspirations, and challenges. Good work!

    • thanks! Unfortunately timing and scheduling conflicts didn’t allow for everyone to be featured in it, but it’s a great video nonetheless! Although not in the video myself, I am happy to count myself amongst this wonderful group of people. I’m glad that you were able to take away some messages from the video as well. Hopefully it was able to give you greater insight into what your thousands of dollars invested in my education is going towards 🙂

Leave a Reply

